Proceed with caution

So you’re taking this class, and somehow managed to stumble on this blog post. You should probably scroll down and get better advice. No? Okay, then here are my tips for this class after finishing this semester and (hopefully) doing well. 

1) Have backup on top of backups:

You will have stories fall through, if not already, then soon. And you will kick yourself for not bothering to prepare for a flaky source or a flatout stonewall from a potential story. So plan accordingly. I literally had 3 different ideas for my final project before I managed to lock it in. 

2) Triple check your equipment forms and equipment: 

I’m not kidding when I tell you that you will get denied if you incorrectly fill out the equipment request form. And when that happens on the only free weekend you can shoot (because of course it will) you will quickly learn to be paranoid about this. This also goes for equipment. You know that battery in the camera? Assume that it’s dead or otherwise not ideal for immediate use.

3) Be ready for some criticism:

I can honestly say that this is one of the most challenging classes that I’ve taken just for how much we learned and had to get decent at quickly (I say decent because I wouldn’t say I’m beyond that). Hopefully you’ll take the criticism and act on it. It will help you in the long run.

4) Take care of the equipment:

So I include this because I’m sure as Professor Ahmad will tell you, you’re only messing each other up if you don’t return everything as it was given to you. The means don’t be dumb and steal something, make sure batteries are charged, etc. And if you do happen to break something, BE HONEST and don’t try to fix it yourself. Thankfully I haven’t had this happen, but if you decide to ignore it, you will lose the ability to take stuff out, including in future classes.

5) Practice:

It helps if you aren’t fumbling around with your settings on the field. And if you’re feeling like investing in yourself, buying your own equipment isn’t a terrible idea. It helps a lot if you have access to a camera, or even an SD card.

Leave a Reply

