The Stitches That Bind

By Trevor Christian

The Knitting Cove is an eight-year-old yarn shop in Port Jefferson that offers lessons on Wednesdays that seems to offer participants more than just knowledge on the craft. I guess you could say the women there have become a tight-knit group. I had to.

My best luck came when I asked for natural sound and Wendy, the workshop leader, helped me by getting metal needles and the craziest machine I’ve ever seen. Donna gave me a more powerful quote than I expected from a customer.

The largest obstacle by far was watching some of my better photos being rendered unusable by the need to increase their size by 20 percent to better fit the video screen. The lighting wasn’t awful, but it wasn’t great either. Even so, I think I did a less awful job here than in the past.

Leave a Reply

