Keep Calm and Blog On

Blogging

I think it’s really important for everyone to keep up with the news and things going on in the world. With access to information at our fingertips, there is really no excuse as to why we shouldn’t; there are so many sites and blogs that are readily available to us. I read countless ones each day, but here are three of my favorites:

Screen Shot 2014-08-28 at 8.16.49 PM

I look at so many sports blogs each day but this is the one I read the most. I am a diehard Dallas Mavericks fan so I look at this ESPN Mavs blog daily. There are three main writers for it and all of them work for ESPN and/or ESPN Dallas so they are obviously credible journalists. Some blogs only have one contributor so it is hard for them to post a lot but I like the fact that this blog has three writers who contribute to it because they are able to post more and post several articles a day. I come to this blog to keep up with news about the Mavs and even to read their opinions or analysis on some things. I also like it because their writing style isn’t always serious. They joke and use slang terms, which to me makes it less boring to read. They always have good sources and incorporate social media into it by posting a link to another article or a screenshot of tweets by some players if it has to do with the story. Each post gets a few comments but the writers don’t interact with the readers on there; rather they always tweet back readers on Twitter. http://espn.go.com/blog/dallas/mavericks

Screen Shot 2014-08-28 at 8.20.02 PM

Another blog I keep up with is Mark Cuban’s blog. Yes, he is the owner of my beloved Mavericks, but it is hardly about basketball, or sports even, and when he does blog about sports, there is always some sort of business twist on it. Cuban is a billionaire entrepreneurial mastermind and blogs about business, technology, politics and the ever-changing world of media. He is smart, insightful, funny, and sarcastic and I always enjoy reading his opinion on different things, even though sometimes his posts are way over my head. He gets so many comments on each blog post and even responds back to some of the people sometimes. He isn’t afraid to argue with people and prove his point and that is what I love about him. He also has a blog roll on his blog that links to other blogs that he reads so I always like checking all of those out too. http://blogmaverick.com/

Screen Shot 2014-08-28 at 8.21.08 PMI always look at Yahoo’s “Trending Now” blog to get an overview of various news stories that I may not easily hear about elsewhere. The blog posts articles every few hours on topics that are popular and “trending,” whether it be about things happening in politics like Isis, the California earthquake, new movies coming out, sports stories, and best of all—great human interest stories that are really heartwarming. Many of the articles have links included as well as videos to go along with them, which I love. It is always nice to have a video included with an article because it brings so much more to the table and really spices the story up, which is why multimedia is so important! The blog posts always get a good amount of comments but there is really no way of interacting with readers. http://news.yahoo.com/blogs/trending-now/

Leave a Reply

