A different kind of “Ice” challenge

The challenge was simple. We had to photograph a stranger and ask them one question: If money didn’t matter, what would your occupation be? 

Surprisingly, I didn’t find it too hard to go up to someone and strike up a conversation. I told them who I was, what I was doing and they were happy to go along with this challenge. I found that it was easier to ask the question first and get their information first, and then take their photo. It felt more comfortable forming a relationship, so it took some of the awkwardness from having a camera in their faces away.

My biggest this I noticed after shooting was that my framing wasn’t the best. I need to be more aware of the background and people growing out of shoulders and poles coming out of backs.  

Leave a Reply

