Pictures speak louder than words

There are people who can write and speak well, but there are photos worth thousands of words.

Carrying a coffin on Tuesday from a undertaker’s shop in separatist-controlled Donetsk. A measure in Parliament would grant eastern regions autonomy. Credit Marko Djurica/Reuters
Carrying a coffin on Tuesday from a undertaker’s shop in separatist-controlled Donetsk. A measure in Parliament would grant eastern regions autonomy. By Marko Djurica/Reuters

The New York Times is the only newspaper I read, and I like how they cover stories about Ukraine and Russia. I came across this story and I thought that the picture was very compelling. I am sure reporters can waste many words and pages describing casualties and damage made by the war in Ukraine, but this picture just says it all. It also became Picture of the day.

There was actually another story on September 14th, in The New York Times, which had two very powerful images as well. When I looked at them, and read the caption, I just felt like I don’t even have to look at the story.

I think it is also very hard to shoot at a war. I have always been amazed by the journalists who cover wars.

 

Leave a Reply

