The Life of a Female Wrestler

This project has been the most difficult one for me so far. I did my assignment on Abigael Lopez-Gay, she is a sophomore here at Stony Brook and she is on the co-ed club wrestling team.

She proved to be an amazing person to interview. She loved to talk and she was very passionate, which I believe made for really good audio.

However I did suffer some difficulties. The lighting in the practice room was absolutely awful. I spent the first 20 minutes trying to fiddle with the camera settings, especially the white balance and f-stop. But no matter what I did, I couldn’t prevent the colors looking wrong. So that led me to the decision to transfer my photos into black and white.

I think this really benefited my story because it added the dramatic mood that went along with the audio and her talking about the struggles of being a female in a male-dominated sport. So all-in-all, I actually think the black and white option pushed my story for the better.

Another difficulty I had with this project was taking pictures of such a fast-paced sport. As a result, a lot of my photos came out blurry.

I do think I was really successful in the final edit of my whole package. The pictures go along nicely with the audio, and of that I am very proud.

One thought on “The Life of a Female Wrestler

Leave a Reply

